Posted in building, community, events, mesh, party, SL9b, updates, video, work in progress

If it’s all the same, I’ll go with Cake, thanks.

So, this is it! Opening Day is Monday. I THINK it’s all ready to go. The only thing I don’t know the status of is the balloon freebies game, and I’m going to try not to stress over it because if I’m stressing about a balloon freebies game, then I need to go find something else to stress about.

Maybe I could try to invent some stress and drama. But then I’m no Hamlet.

The Cake is FRIGGIN’ AMAZING. You may or may not recall from SL8B last year, the very popular and widely acclaimed “Together” exhibit by Mikati Slade. Well I’m very excited to see her work as this year’s Cake Stage. It spans 4 whole sims and it’s in-friggin’-credible. The photo doesn’t do it justice. WAIT TIL YOU SEE IT.

Speaking of things I can’t wait for you to see: this.

Oh wait I’m doing this wrong. Um… CONTROVERSY. DRAMA. STUFF.

Look, Hammie, I know you want SL9B to be a drama-and-lag fest, just like you say SL8B was. You’ll even go so far as to mention a build that most of the other builders/staff/participants never even saw. I notice, though, that if not for (invented) controversy, there really isn’t much mention from your blog about SL9B at all. Perhaps you don’t find it newsworthy that residents, and not a single Labbie, ponied up land, donated their time and work, and did everything all on their own. Perhaps you don’t find it newsworthy that there were more applicants to build at this expo than at any of the previous ones. Perhaps you don’t find the beautiful Cake Stage, the underwater exhibits, the giant airborne stage made entirely out of mesh, worth mentioning in your news blog.

But I do. I’m fucking well impressed. No, awed. I call myself an event planner but bitches I can’t even BEGIN to fathom what went into making this whole thing come together. I consider myself truly lucky to be just a tiny little cog in this whole mechanism, and I will never, for as long as I live or rez, forget this event.

Tonight the gates close. Tomorrow, to de-stress, Petal and friends are going pillaging. Then, Monday, bring on the cake and the Death. I am so ready.

Author:

IT'S ME.

3 thoughts on “If it’s all the same, I’ll go with Cake, thanks.

  1. You have to get some things straight though!! Numbers are only numbers,perhaps there were more applicants this year but a lot of people didnt make the cut even with awesome ideas because of the greediness of the “organizers” to be able to show how many applications they could get, even knowing they would never be able to fit everyone. Sick movement!! And about the Lab not giving land? Try asking Solo Mornington in the LEA comitee if the Lab offered 12 sims for the SLB to be done, it wasnt their fault some of the so called community people like Solo, made sure we wouldnt get it!! Spread the word and when writing things, get all the facts together!!

  2. Great job, Mistletoe and Clover. I am glad that you spearheaded this endeavor. I cannot wait to take some time and explore all of the sims.

Leave a comment