Posted in business in SL, day-to-day, nightlife, rant, Wee Little Irish Pub

Grumpy Old Elf’s Pub

So, I’ve been thinking a lot lately and I’m noticing just how much I don’t miss being tied to the pub for the past week (I had my hands so full as Clover that I just didn’t have any time to devote to the pub). I mean I know work is work and not happy-fun-time (paraphrasing Red Foreman), but… a place that I intended to be a place to relax and hang out (and if others enjoy it, so much the better) is instead becoming the place that I have to pretend to give a damn about pleasing other people if I want to see tier this week.

And that’s the rub, so to speak. If I didn’t have to worry about pulling in tier (like at the smaller location) I wouldn’t have to deal with the stupid politics. And it is, when issues arise, over stupid things; be it gestures or the height of an avatar or the dance floor. There are, quite honestly, days in which I want to just lock the doors and not deal with people at all. And it’s not that everyone who comes through gets on my nerves. Far from it. It only takes the occasional gobshite to really sour my mood. But when the gobshites come, boy oh boy do they take it out of me.

I’m tired of weighing my each and every decision on my pub by asking “what effect will this have on the rest of my customers?” A word, which by the way, I’m using quite liberally here. I think it’s fair to say that if I’m having these feelings regarding customers, I probably am not cut out to own and run a virtual entertainment/hospitality type of establishment.

So I’m debating where to go from here. Wait it out? Hire some management? Sell the place? I don’t honestly know. I just know that right at this moment I do NOT love running a pub.

Author:

IT'S ME.

2 thoughts on “Grumpy Old Elf’s Pub

    1. Hi Slamdunk, nice to meet you 🙂

      I run three. I mean four. I’ve discovered that I really like being busy and making new things, and love that people enjoy the things I make and that I am actually making real money (albeit a small amount) at it.

      There have been some changes; I’ll discuss them in my next post.

Leave a Reply

