Posted in day-to-day

Turn and face the strange

Just read that Bryn Oh has decided to resign from the LEA (Linden Endowment for the Arts). I agree with her reasons completely.

I also read that a longtime favorite shop for menswear, AlphaMale, is closing.

Now I’m not going to get all Hamlet and go DEATHWATCH ZOMG. But the world of Second Life is changing. I’m no oldbie but I’m no longer a newbie either, and it’s uncomfortable for me to see things changing and not knowing if I am willing or able to change with it. Yes I know, I’m making this all about me me me again.

There are still amazing, incredible, “holy shit” things about SL that people make, lead, and do. Tons of them. Watch Drax’s show if you don’t believe me. I don’t think SL is dying. But it’s changing. And this grouchy old elf is biting her nails waiting to see what it changes to, all the while thinking “I can’t do THAT”.

I log on from time to time and feel this odd feeling of no longer being overwhelmed with things to plan and build and do. I don’t even have regular DJ gigs to worry about anymore. Freedom and Boredom must surely be siblings, though. On the one hand I don’t have to do anything. On the other, I don’t have anything to do. And that’s good while I’m moving house and studying IRL. But, it doesn’t keep me logged on for long these days.

Confession time: I’m playing Puzzle Pirates again for the first time in years. Look up Caitriona-West in the Cerulean Ocean if you play. Just got my first ship. It’ll be fun.

So anyway, Second Life does go on, with or without me.

Author:

IT'S ME.

One thought on “Turn and face the strange

  1. I feel the same although it is a bit different for me.
    As someone who owns a lot of land and needs to look after a lot of tenants, there is always work to do and with a busy community there are always new and interesting events and people to remind you how cool it is.
    And as a history junkie, I’ll never get tired because I’ll always have stuff I want to build and recreate.
    But yes, it is worrying to see people leave and very upsetting that LL is just not changing the TOS or at least explaining their actions a bit more.
    It is not just regular users who are leaving, not people in the gambling or sex industry.
    But artists, creative people.
    To me that is very bad.
    To me creativity is THE cornerstone of SL and once you start restricting that you’re damaging SL.
    For the first time in 5 years, I am worried and am actually seeing SL being damaged in a way that will impact me.

Leave a Reply

