Posted in day-to-day

If it happens to me…

Don’t know if you heard the news yet; it seems that the man we know as Adric Antfarm passed away suddenly earlier in the week. I guess it just hasn’t fully registered for me yet. In part it’s probably because I’m naturally skeptical about such things, given how much I’ve read on faking deaths online. In another part I think it’s still so much of a shock that I’m not ready to believe it’s true (is it still denial when you know it could very well be?).

Adric was the second person I ever banned from posting in my blog, about a year or so ago (the first being a stalking ex-lover in SL). The ban lasted all of a week. His posts kept going into the spam queue, and I couldn’t help reading them and I especially couldn’t help laughing at them. His (and everyone else’s) comments still went into a moderation queue afterward, but I didn’t mind that and I don’t think he did either. He visited me on the OpenLife Grid during my sojourn there, and came into Clover’s Kitchen a few times. He was opinionated, mouthy, and completely bullshit intolerant. Sometimes I agreed with him, sometimes I strongly disagreed, sometimes he’d say what I was really thinking but didn’t have the raw nerve to say. He will, surely, be missed.

The news came by way of his own blog, Living on a Prim, on September 23, by way of a post by Amalia Broome, recounting a message from “Adric”‘s RL best friend John:

I regret to inform everyone that this is the last entry for Adric Antfarm. The man behind this blog, my best friend, David, passed away suddenly Saturday night or very early Sunday morning, apparently of natural causes (quite possibly a stroke). I was closer, perhaps, to him than anyone else in the real world, having known him for 20 years.

It is not a pleasant task to have to inform his followers of this tragic news. David had communicated to me several things he wanted “taken care of” if he were to die before me, and I’m doing my best to fulfill his wishes.

It did get me to thinking, if I were to suddenly kick off, how would any of you know it? Because I can assure you, my next of kin would have zero interest in making a post from my SL blog when he’s got other fish to fry. Even if it did occur to him to want to make a post, I don’t think he knows my passwords to know how.

I think it would be more like this: if a month or more goes by when I don’t appear on ANY blog, forum, inworld login, Twitter, or Skype, then it’s safe to assume the worst. Or best, depending. A handful of you have my RL phone number; I’m going to count on you guys to do the detective work (since I’d be, you know, dead and all).

Do please pardon if you can my flippant way of talking about this. As I say, I’m still not entirely ready to believe it’s true. Shock is like that.

Author:

IT'S ME.

2 thoughts on “If it happens to me…

  1. That is very sad to hear if it is true. I know I have thought about all my friends online if something were to happen to me. I do have someone set up to contact people if I do.

    Lets hope nothing happens to you for a very long time Mist cause I know I would miss you a lot. You and I have known each other for a lot of years and have been through many many many things.

    1. Which is why you got my number 😉

      Guys, trust PJ here with true and accurate information about me to the best of her knowledge.

Leave a Reply

