Posted in building, business in SL, day-to-day, personal, rant

Fairness and Building Bugs

I cashed out my Second Life’s savings the other day, and got just a bit over $80 USD into PayPal from it. That’ll pay our Internet bill. That means, by the way, that I’m one of the apparently rare few who got more money out of SL than I put into it. Probably not a lot in the long run, but, I figure I pumped about $60 (all told) into purchasing Ls or getting a Premium membership. So, while a $20 profit in a year and a half’s time doesn’t sound like very much, it’s still a positive number.

So what the hell am I complaining about, right? I mean, I made money from this, what the hell right do I have to feel entitled to “getting what I pay for” when really I’m the one who’s been paid?

The fact is, just because I’m not the one being screwed by new policy changes, doesn’t make it any the more fair. I think implementing changes for the express purpose of making more money, and then telling the people you rob that it’s for their own good is–call me kooky–less than fair.

Because of this, I sincerely believe that I made the right decision in leaving. I really feel like where I’ve moved to has a greater sense of community (when we introverts talk to each other…) and that my varied interests and talents are appreciated rather than exploited. There are people who agree with the new XStreet “roadmap”; they have their reasons, but I fail to understand what they could be. Many have bought into the idea that freebies and cheapies must be crap-quality products and that getting rid of them will “clean up the clutter” in the marketplace. What I see more likely happening is overpriced crap-quality products, and a search feature that’s every bit as cluttered and useless as before.

Now. I heard second-hand that the Lab is “no longer taking feedback” about it, though I haven’t been able to confirm it. If it’s true, it further illustrates my disgust. If you’re going to make money from someone else’s work, I should hope you would always be available to listen to what they have to say about it.

At any rate. I don’t doubt for a moment that I made the right decision in packing up my toys and leaving the playground. But I will admit that sometimes it’s lonely and frustrating standing behind said decision. I really really REALLY hope that this new viewer will enable me to edit prim objects on my person without bouncing all over creation every minor adjustment I made (though I found the workaround: sit on a poseball and it’s less likely to happen). I hope that someone can friend me when I’m offline, I can “accept” it later when I log on, and then we’ll really BE on each other’s friend list. I hope that I can make announcements to my group. I hope people can JOIN my group without my having to invite them. I hope that when I edit linked prims the edits “take”; I hope that when I unlink a single prim, the whole multi-prim structure doesn’t come unlinked. I hope I can delete things and they stay deleted. I hope it becomes more user-friendly to new folks, because I want my friends to come and visit me.

But. I guess the Right Thing is often not the easy or comfortable thing.

Author:

IT'S ME.

One thought on “Fairness and Building Bugs

  1. I haven’t known you very long, but Sissy has. I know you don’t care what she thinks, but she says you are talking like you used to a year ago about SL. We both hope you aren’t headed down a road already traveled. I say whatever you do, in addition to Second Life and Open Life, ultimately it’s Your Life, and I wish you well with your new adventure.
    P.S. This is the first message written on my brand new computer with gigato-gigs and monstro – multiple drivers. I can see the grass and water again!

Leave a Reply

