Posted in Cat Agus Cu, day-to-day, events, out of character, personal, rant

No Nay Never No More Will We Play the Wild Rover

So, I dunno.

After tonight there’s a part of me that seriously wonders what the hell the point is. Not of life in general, I’m past that stage; not SL, I’ve made peace with the fact that there is no point. No, what I’m talking about is playing music in SL.

Though the more I think about it, the more I think we just won’t play gigs at the Dragon anymore. This one tonight, I planned the whole week around. We were going to have someone from a Big Famous Pub come and listen tonight, and we wanted to get a great crowd to show their support.

One person. ONE PERSON shows up. And I’m glad she did so, and I’m glad for her kind and sympathetic words. The person we planned this damn thing around never showed, wasn’t even online at the time. And I mean I know, people have their RLs, people have their commitments, and on Friday night people have tons of events to spread themselves out over. Still. Talk about discouraging.

It keeps happening lately. I have an idea, I put all this time and effort and love into planning it, and for what?

So, I’m not going to do it anymore.

SL was never meant to be a burdensome unpaid job. I love NF and I love DonPaul, but I’m tired of being the duct tape that holds a (dwindling) handful of people together. Someone else can do it for a while. That goes for this damn festival, too.

Meanwhile we’ll be taking paid in full gigs, attended by audiences, elsewhere.

Author:

IT'S ME.

3 thoughts on “No Nay Never No More Will We Play the Wild Rover

  1. Oh NO! Your gigs at “home” are such fun… might have been better if the weather was crappy.

    I thought with the advance notice there’d be tons of people, too. As it was, I was stuck at my “mumble-grumble” stupid job, and then as soon as I got home, I was shanghaied by a hairy technomonkey and forced to eat sushi.

    Don’t lose heart. Your music is great, and I hope you get some paid gigs at the big pubs ASAP. I was at Nancy Blake’s the other night – they always have a good crowd.

    That “Music Isle” place was interesting too – after the violin concert, I wondered around and played on the bumper cars. It was very good for reducing stress. 😉

  2. Both are good venues in terms of turnout; however, Nancy’s is strictly charity, meaning their bands volunteer to perform for free and all tips go into their charity tip jars. While it is indeed a very noble cause, it doesn’t pay our rent.

    We had a problem in the past with Music Isle, if they’re who I think they are. We were “booked” to play a gig there, and they waited until the last possible minute to inform us that they didn’t intend to pay us. We asked if we could at least put the hat out, and they said no, the event was to help them raise money for their own sim. It feeds the whole “REAL artists don’t do it for money” mentality, of which I want no part.

  3. I understand where you’re coming from, and from what I’ve heard about them, I’m not surprised that the big whig from Big Fatuous Pub didn’t show with no notice. As one of my ex’s liked to say, “Illigitimus non carborundum” which is supposed to mean “Don’t let the bastards grind you down.” I don’t know how literal the translation is, but I do try to live by it.
    PS: I know a few REAL artists, and they DO do it for the money… I only know one who doesn’t, and she has a day job.

Leave a Reply

