Posted in day-to-day, events, northfarthing, out of character, personal, rant

The Tale of the Little Red Hen (and of the Little Brunette Elf)

Once upon a time, a little red hen found a grain of wheat.
“Who will help me plant this grain?” Asked the Little Red Hen.
“Not I,” said the cat.
“Not I,” said the dog.
“Not I,” said the duck.
“Not I,” said the pig.
“Then I shall do it myself,” said the Little Red Hen. And she did.


When the time came to harvest the wheat, the Little Red Hen asked, “Who will help me harvest this wheat?”
“Not I,” said the cat.
“Not I,” said the dog.
“Not I,” said the duck.
“Not I,” said the pig.
“Then I shall do it myself,” said the Little Red Hen. And she did.

“And who will take the wheat to the mill?” she asked.
“Not I,” said the cat.
“Not I,” said the dog.
“Not I,” said the duck.
“Not I,” said the pig.
“Then I shall do it myself,” said the Little Red Hen. And she did.

She took the wheat to the mill, where it was made into flour. “Who will help me to make the flour into bread?” asked the Little Red Hen.
“Not I,” said the cat.
“Not I,” said the dog.
“Not I,” said the duck.
“Not I,” said the pig.
“Then I shall do it myself,” said the Little Red Hen. And she did.

When the bread was baked, she took it from the oven. “And now,” she asked, “Who will help me to eat the bread?”
“I will!” said the cat.
“I will!” said the dog.
“I will!” said the duck.
“I will!” said the pig.
“No; I shall do it myself,” said the Little Red Hen. And, she did.


There are times when I really feel like the Little Red Hen. I don’t know why people think I’m the only one who can plan any kind of an event or get-together in this town. For a long time I took piles and piles of work upon myself (rationalizing that if I don’t do it, it will never get done), only to end up overwhelmed and under-appreciated.

Eventually, I caught a clue and realized that maybe people just don’t know that they can plan and do stuff as well. Maybe they think I’m someone more than just a tenant who rents a home and shop in this town; if I am, it’s because I rolled up my sleeves, reached in, and did work. Maybe what the people of Northfarthing needed was a reminder that they, too, need only roll up their own sleeves and help in making this town a community.

So, I sent out a notecard to the whole group. A damn good one if I do say so myself. I got lots of IMs telling me I was “spot on”, that it was about time someone spoke up about this problem! And in the next breath, these people would make excuses. Not excuses for the past, but excuses for not doing anything about it now. “I’m no good at planning events,” say some (How would you know? Have you even made an attempt?!). “Nobody wants me around anyway,” whined another (and I don’t play that game!). “I don’t really know many people,” say others (how many people do you expect to meet holed up in your house or skybox?). “OK, just tell me what I can do,” say a few (please reread the notecard for a half dozen possible examples of things you can do. I don’t know your skills, your talents, your interests; you do. What can you do? You tell me!). People started to talk again. Ideas started to flow. Some events even got planned by people OTHER than me.

And now, maybe two weeks after I sent out that notecard, we’re back to where we were before.

Is it me? Am I just being unrealistic to expect that anyone would have enough interest in this sim to want to improve it or at very least, enjoy it and share in it? I’m not wanting a utopian society; I’d settle for any society at all around here.

One idea that got bandied about was a Spring Festival. I quickly saw the response to that becoming “Sure! I’ll be happy to go to a festival that you put on for us, Mistletoe!” Well maybe this Little Brunette Elf doesn’t want to be the only one making the bread anymore. And frankly this is one loaf I have no intention of tackling on my own. I can eat my own bread privately in my house too.

The complacency is enough to make me want to scream. And if one person speaks up and says, “Hey, I don’t know about you, but I’d like to see something different” then the attitude shifts to “Well, good, I’d love to see some changes…as long as you’re the one doing all the work and I can just keep doing what I’ve been doing.”

Wake the hell up, people. You don’t have to do everything. But for fuck’s sake, do something.

Author:

IT'S ME.

3 thoughts on “The Tale of the Little Red Hen (and of the Little Brunette Elf)

  1. Maybe you do too much – people have come to expect it of you, so there’s no incentive for anyone else to initiate anything. People don’t appreciate what they have until it’s gone. If it was me, I’d say “fuck it” and just go about my own business for my own amusement. I notice there are no other comments on this article – maybe that says something too. Does no one read it? Or are they like me, read it, agree (or not) and can’t be bothered writing a reply. I kept a blog for over a year, and maybe got a dozen comments in all that time – and I’m nowhere the writer you are. I finally decided that nobody wanted to hear it and I haven’t blogged since (this is the most I’ve written in a year, I don’t know why I’m doing it now). People just don’t care, and I guess I’m no different.

  2. Maybe you do too much – people have come to expect it of you, so there’s no incentive for anyone else to initiate anything.

    That’s crap. The only events that I’ve planned and carried out since Christmas was a live performance at the local pub, and a class at the library. That’s two things in two months.

    People don’t appreciate what they have until it’s gone. If it was me, I’d say “fuck it” and just go about my own business for my own amusement.

    I’m not you. And that is what you do.

    I notice there are no other comments on this article – maybe that says something too. Does no one read it?…

    It says that you’re not familiar with many SL blogs on WordPress. It also says just how much you really do care what other people think/say about you. It’s usually the ones who say “I don’t care” the loudest who do the most, I’ve observed.

    You’re the one who goes to a live show to “support” us, then spends the whole hour pissing and moaning about how your speakers are broken and you can’t hear us. You’re the one who plays the “I’m not welcome anywhere/I may as well go eat worms” game, probably in the hopes of getting me to say “Oh Badd, honey, that’s not true! We all just love having you and your negative attitude around!” If your blog was similar, I know I wouldn’t be interested in reading it.

    This is why I choose not to be friends with you anymore. You bring down, but you have no will to build up. It’s easier to whine about problems than to try and find a solution.

    (this is the most I’ve written in a year, I don’t know why I’m doing it now)

    Probably because you have an agenda.

    People just don’t care, and I guess I’m no different.

    Do you contradict yourself? Very well, you contradict yourself.

  3. Hey Mist,

    I think its awful noble of you to work so hard getting us up off our duffs and involved in the shire. I am still kinda new but I do want to help and Im sure others do also. You, Tel and I went to get musical instruments that we will use for the festival and I exchanged the drums for the pipes this morning. Mikki was very gracious.

    I think the Festival is going to be great. And Im looking forward to helping. I know that contributions in wares, skills and lindens will be most useful… bu t also help in organizing will also be a great help. There is much to do!

    Reply: Pirate, you were one of the people who helped me to see that things aren’t as miserable and thankless as I thought it was when I wrote this rant. I just posted a follow-up on the very topic.

Leave a Reply

