Posted in OpenLife, openSpace, out of character

A can of worms

I know!

Let’s talk about OpenSpace.

I won’t speculate as to a motive for the ginormous price hike. I can say, however, as a bit of a merchant myself: I know a bad business decision when I see one with a big red flashing sign that says “THIS IS A BAD BUSINESS DECISION” with the circles and the arrows and the paragraphs on the back of each one…

For many, this is the straw that breaks the camel’s back. Perhaps I should say set of encyclopedias that breaks the camel’s back.

Enter the OpenLife Grid. I was very excited to hear about this: for users, by users, it boasts. Well and good. However, I was quickly thwarted by something that I DO hope to see remedied soon: no Mac version of their viewer yet. But I’m not one to turn away from a potentially good thing easily! I searched the forums and found this post on how to run it as best one can so far on OSX. So I look forward to trying it out and reporting.

But something ugly’s going to happen if Linden Labs continues with this bad business decision. Talk about shooting one’s self in the foot…