Posted in medieval, music, out of character

The Wanton Seamstress (updated 9/29)

So I was conversing with someone the other day and we got into making these funny innuendos about making clothing (myself being a tailor and all) and it got me to thinking that it really needs to be a bawdy song.

And since I’ve been booted from SL again, I figure I’ve got time to work on that idea.

edit 9/29: I’m inspired! Newest version follows…

A seamstress lived in the center of town
Or that’s the way I hear it
A seamstress lived in the center of town
At least that’s what they say
A seamstress lived in the center of town
She had a shop of great renown
And many’s the patron would get in her gown
Tur-a-lum, tur-a-lay!

One was a nobleman, handsome-faced
Or that’s the way I hear it
One was a nobleman, handsome-faced
At least that’s what they say
One was a nobleman, handsome-faced
She took him in and got him unlaced
And used her legs to measure his waist
Tur-a-lum, tur-a-lay!

A blacksmith sturdy as could be
Or that’s the way I hear it
A blacksmith sturdy as could be
At least that’s what they say
A blacksmith sturdy as could be
“For an apron, I’ll give you some iron,” said he
She took his offer, repeatedly
Tur-a-lum, tur-a-lay!

There came an ex-lover who’d done her ill
Or that’s the way I hear it
There came an ex-lover who’d done her ill
At least that’s what they say
There came an ex-lover who’d done her ill
“Come measure my inseam, if ye will!”
And thanks to the pins, he’s limping still
Tur-a-lum, tur-a-lay!

So if you find her shop by chance
Or that’s the way I hear it
So if you find her shop by chance
At least that’s what they say
So if you find her shop by chance
You’ll get the best fit from London to France
But always be sure to pay in advance
Tur-a-lum, tur-a-lay!


I like this better already. I think I’ve got something this time.

Author:

IT'S ME.

Leave a Reply

