Posted in Uncategorized

An ill taste in my mouth

“None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.”
– Goethe

I took a commission project earlier in the week and I never shall again. I was approached by a couple of Goreans who wanted four veils to match with four dresses. The lady went on to explain to me that if “free” (quotes mine) women don’t wear veils in their culture, then they can be “stolen”.

The impression that I got of this whole Gorean business is that it’s a twisted mix of reverent worship for women (evidenced by the way her male partner kept calling her his princess) and subjugation of them. And there’s something decidedly familiar-seeming about it all…

Now, look, I’m one of the more open-minded and less judgmental people you’re going to meet. People do all kinds of freaky shit and most of the time I’ll just shrug and say, meh, consenting adults, whatever. But who in the great blue fuck could possibly get off on the idea of owning people? It’s one thing to fantasize about being dominant or dominated in a moment of passion or what have you. But enslavement just squicks me out.

“Whenever I hear anyone arguing for slavery, I feel a strong impulse to see it tried on him personally.”
– Abraham Lincoln

So now that this commission project is out of my hands and I have a better understanding of what I contributed to, I am NEVER doing it again. I’m sorry, you Goreans, there’s already plenty of stuff out there catering to your brand of deviance. I don’t have to pay rent so desperately that I ever wish to take another commission from you again. I’ll pay out of pocket for lindens first.

“Better to starve free than be a fat slave.” – Aesop

There are very few things in life, first or Second, that make me just drop jaw and say “What the fuck is WRONG with you?!” But the whole Gor crap is one of them.

This may cost me business, but I still have my conscience. The latter makes going to sleep at night considerably easier than the former.

“The product of slavery, intellectual or physical, can never be great.”
– Mark Twain

Author:

IT'S ME.

Leave a Reply

